The Institute would like to acknowledge the contribution of the following members, committees and organisations to recently updated and/or new Acumen content:

  • Acumen Content Review Panel (ACRP) members (past and present): Tim Browne, Casey Bryant, Tristrim Cummings, Pam Drakopoulos, Suzanne Goodson, Tess Grace, Rachel Heise, Michael Hegarty, Kim Irons, Liehan Janse van Rensburg, Tony Kemeny, Sarah Lindsay, Kent Lyon, Luisa Manfredini, Constantine Moschoyiannis, Derek Moses, Peter Quigley, Jo Rees, Sandra Stewart, Rebekah Stuber, Chloe Summers, Daniel Trevino and Mike Verdouw
  • Members of the Environment Advisory Group (past and present): Paul Barnett, Patrick Denell, John Gelder, Tanya Grobbelaar, Shanica Saenrak Hall, Noy Hildebrand, Carolyn Marshall, Sam McQueeney, Caroline Pidcock and Vanessa Whittem
  • Members of the EDG IP review group: Caroline Pidcock (chair), John Gelder, Noy Hildebrand, Joseph O’Meara and Ksenia Totoeva, and the many members, authors and external stakeholders who contributed to the 2018 review of the Environment notes
  • Contributing members: John Castles, Michael Harris, Bill Henning, Graham Hunt, Hayley Franklin, Warwick Mihaly, Michael Neustein, Steve Rose and David Sainsbery
  • Contributing working groups and committees: National Access Work Group, National Committee for Gender Equity, Tasmanian Chapter Practice Committee, Victorian Chapter Practice of Architecture Committee, Victorian Chapter Reconciliation Action Plan (RAP) working group, Victorian Senior Counsellors and the WA BIM working group
  • Organisations: Planned Cover, with special thanks to Wendy Poulton

The Institute acknowledges the Architects Registration Board of Victoria (ARBV) for their support from 2017 to 2019 in the redevelopment of Acumen and the update of its content.

Image credits

Architectural images featured on this site are drawn from the Australian Institute of Architects Architecture Awards program. The annual National Architecture Awards recognise and celebrate outstanding achievements and excellence in architecture across Australia and internationally through our local and international chapters.




1437 Inside Outside House Craig Steere Architects  Red Images Fine Photography
84 Halifax Street Oxigen Dan Schultz
Adelaide Convention Centre Redevelopment: East Woods Bagot Trevor Mein
Australian Embassy Bangkok BVN John Gollings
Barangaroo House Collins and Turner Rory Gardiner
Barwon Water GHDWoodhead Trevor Mein
Bendigo Hospital Silver Thomas Hanley with Bates Smart Peter Clarke
Bendigo Hospital Silver Thomas Hanley with Bates Smart Shannon McGrath
Blackwater Aquatic Centre Liquid Blu Architects Angus Martin Photography
Boneo Country House John Wardle Architects Sharyn Cairns
Bruny Island Hideaway Maguire + Devine Architects Rob Maver
Bunjil Place Fjmt John Gollings
CDU ACIKE Cermemonial Space Additions Hodgkison PTY LTD Gary Annett
Curra Community Hall Bark Design Architects Christopher Frederick Jones
GA House Architects Ink Sam Noonan
Garden Cemetery Chapel Susan Dugdale and Associates Gary Annett
Headricks Lane SP Studio Kirsten Cunningham
Henry Street House Eugene Cheah Architecture Trevor Mein
Highgate Primary School New Teaching Building iredale pedersen hook architects Peter Bennetts
House 412 Pulina Ponnamperuma+Robust Architecture Workshop Kolitha Perera
House on the Coast Sean Godsell Architects Earl Carter
Innovation Walk Revitalisation Project Kosloff Architecture + Callum Morton + MAP (Monash Art Projects) Derek Swalwell
JK Murray Library Extension & Refurbishment dwp | design worldwide partnership Roger D'Souza
Joynton Avenue Creative Centre and Precinct Peter Stutchbury Architecture for City of Sydney Michael Nicholson
Koondrook Wharf TERROIR Adam Gibson
Krakani lumi Taylor and Hinds Architects with the Aboriginal Land Council of Tasmania Adam Gibson
luwa Taylor and Hinds Architects with the Aboriginal Land Council of Tasmania Adam Gibson
Macquarie University Incubator Architectus Brett Boardman
Millswood House studio-gram with Kate Russo David Sievers
Monaro Mall, Canberra Centre Universal Design Studio and Mather Architecture Dianna Snape
Monash University Learning and Teaching Building John Wardle Architects Trevor Mein
Nightingale 1 Breathe Architecture Kate Longely
Optus Stadium HASSELL COX HKS Peter Bennetts
PR House Architects Ink Sam Noonan 
Punchbowl Mosque Candalepas Associates Brett Boardman
RN Robertson building CCJ Architects Ben Wrigley
Robina Market Hall Redevelopment  Architect: The Buchan Group Concept Design Architect: ACME  Peter Clarke
Roscommon House  Neil Cownie Architect  Michael Nicholson
Skybarn  Max Pritchard Gunner Architects  Sam Noonan
St Christopher's Precinct  Cox Architecture  Ben Wrigley 
Strongbuild Administration Building  Fitzpatrick + Partners and Strongbuild  John Gollings
The Centenary Library, Anglican Church Grammar School  Brand + Slater Architects Pty Ltd  Christopher Frederick Jones
The Geoff Handbury Science and Technology Hub, Melbourne Grammar School Denton Corker Marshall John Gollings
The Science Place HASSELL Andrew Rankin 
The Stores Cavill Architects in Association with Jasper Brown Architects  Christopher Frederick Jones 
Unfolding House Sibling Architecture  Christine Francis 
Yalgoo Avenue  Michelle Blakeley, Architect Perry Sandow